Dublin Marathon 2013 – Session 31 Preview

So ive enjoyed my rest/cross day, although I didn’t get to go to the gym as it turned out they close at 5 on a Saturday…..how rubbish is that!! But I did get a good long walk to and from Preston in, so that’s something.

Ive mapped out my route for the morning all 18 miles of it!!

http://www.runningahead.com/maps/73af61b6f3f4422a972ee34d50256478?unit=mi

This will be the furthest I’ve run since I was in training for the Preston marathon back in 2012. Its a fairly straight forward route with the exception of one large hill in the middle of it and I have given myself the goal completion time of 2:40-2.50. Its a route which also takes me into new territory heading into the Euxton area, which some reason ive always fancied running too, although im not sure why!! So that will be interesting, although the down side is that I will be running along main roads quite a bit on this journey.

In other news: I finally finished reading the ultramarathon man book, there is a good bit at the end. Where he talks about why he runs, after a pizza delivery guy had asked him one night (He got a pizza delivered out to him, whilst on a long late night run you see) any way, this is a good edited extract from it, that I think a lot of runners can relate to :

I run because if I didn’t, id be sluggish and glum and spend too much time on the couch. I run to breathe the fresh air I run to explore. I run to escape the ordinary.

I run because it keeps me humble. I run for the finish line and to savour the trip along the way. I run because walking takes too long, and i’d like to get a few things done in this lifetime.

I run because long after my footprints fade away, maybe I will have inspired a few to reject the easy path, hit the trails, put one foot in front of the other, and come to the same conclusion I did: I run because it always takes me where I want to go…….

                                                          Dean Karnazes – Ultramarathon Man

 

How good is that…..

Don’t forget my charity event, September 1st im joining Paralympic gold medallist Richard Whitehead as he runs the full length Britain. He will be running through Preston on that day and I am planning on joining him for 20 miles or so as a local runner. So if you have a spare Dollar / Pound or Euro please chuck it this way

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/Simon_Collins

Its for the Scope charity :

http://www.scope.org.uk/

Tweet it, stick it on your facebook, pass it on through forums do everything you can and together we can help make his challenge an amazing success.

#KeepRunning

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Dublin Marathon 2013 – Session 31 Preview

  1. Pingback: Dublin Marathon 2013 – Week 7 Review & The Week Ahead | sjpc14

Leave a Reply

