Dublin Marathon 2013 – Session 31 Review

519796-50th-napk-big

I did it!! I reached the big 5 0 , its been a tough week, but this morning I picked myself up and I got out there for one more slog to complete the biggest total mileage in seven days ive ever done. A personal record, which will last a whole seven days………as next week im down for 54!!!

So this was the 18 miles I ran, this morning :

http://www.runningahead.com/maps/73af61b6f3f4422a972ee34d50256478?unit=mi

I intentionally hogged the main roads, as I was heading into new running territory, although it was a bit surreal at one point, as I looked over a field and just over side of it was the M6 motorway……now sure how often i’ll have that view!

That said I did come across rabbits and mice on my run, which surprised me, although I had equally disappointing views such as a pool of vomit…….nice!!

Run wise, I was ahead of time at the 3 mile point, but then by the six mile point I had slipped 4 minutes behind scheduled….Some of that was due to the slight climbs I came across, some of it down to that fact I don’t have a GPS watch and some of it was down to having to stop as I had come across the UK Iron Man competition whilst on their cycling leg, so I had to wait for a gap in the competitors till I could cross Euxton Lane. I would face the same issue again on Preston Road, as I bumped into more of these guys. I probably should of stopped my watch these points, but I like to give myself a challenge and you never know what will happen in a race, so I think using things like this to practice event issues and having to chase a time , isn’t so bad.

I knew this event was occurring, but I hadn’t realised my run would take me into their path! twice!! But it was good to see them and I gave them a thumbs up as I went along. I also hadn’t realised that there was a large section of the B5252 were I would have to run on grass, so that whole time I reminded 4 minutes behind, despite my efforts to push on and regain the time.

However with miles 9 – 12 being mostly down hill, I was able to recover 2 minutes of my time and then for miles 14 – 16 I pushed on real hard and got back on schedule. Although my legs were quite sore at this point and the racing and miles pounded were and I paid the price for this as I hit the wall between miles 16 and 17. Having to stop to open and close farm gates  during this period certainly didn’t help and was hard work, as I founded myself not wanting to start up running again, but I did do and I push on up the final hill getting home in 2hr:39mins , so in the end I gone from 4 miles down to 4 miles ahead, so I was really pleased with that.

So ive spend the rest of the day resting up watching the London Classic cycling event. I think I earned that.

In other news, the roller , despite being over priced and looking simply like a bit a of cheap foam…..really was worth buying!!

And ive had my first two donations for my charity event, so that’s great going and thank you to SKB and Mudassir.

The Event

September 1st im joining Paralympic gold medallist Richard Whitehead as he runs the full length Britain. He will be running through Preston on that day and I am planning on joining him for 20 miles or so as a local runner. So if you have a spare Dollar / Pound or Euro please chuck it this way

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/Simon_Collins

Its for the Scope charity :

http://www.scope.org.uk/

Tweet it, stick it on your facebook, pass it on through forums do everything you can and together we can help make his challenge an amazing success.

#KeepRunning

One thought on “Dublin Marathon 2013 – Session 31 Review

  1. Pingback: Dublin Marathon 2013 – Week 7 Review & The Week Ahead | sjpc14

Leave a Reply

