Dublin Marathon 2013 : Session 33 – lead legs

timeSo last night was a 12 mile run and before the run i worked out i needed to be finishing it in around 1hr46mins. Which to me seemed preferably achievable, however as soon as i set off it became clear that, that goal might not be do able. My legs are stiff and sore right from the off and some of that will be due to the stride session the day before and some of it due to last weeks 50 miles.

http://www.runningahead.com/maps/86d0ea69e07546d194851409d8cb5f3e?unit=mi

I did start to loosen up a bit around the four mile point, however when i got to around the 6.5 mile point and saw that my watch read 1hr i knew i had a fight on my hands to get round in my target time. So this run had become very much a battle of the mind, especially as not long after this point i hit a steep incline and that became one of a couple of points during my run which my body said to me “Go on walk for a bit”. I ignored these thoughts and kept on plodding and when i crossed leyland road and a dog walker said to me “Go on keep going, you can do it” it inspired me to up a gear once more and when i was running down the old tram road at around mile 10 it did seem i might be able to pull this run around.

However, i then reached the mile 11 point that featured a half a mile incline. Which isnt normally a challenging climb but on lead legs, it certainly takes it out of you and back to plodding i went. Then came that final climb at mile 12 which is tough on a normal day but i got up it and pushed on home……..my time……1hr58……..disappointing?! On a normal day maybe, last night, no. I was just pleased i got the 12 miles in! There have been runs like this in the past and there will be runs like that in the future. The important thing is getting through them and completing them, as mentally it will prepare you for the demands of the marathon.

So today was due to be a rest / cross training day and i could certainly due with a rest! However, i have a friends birthday to attend on Friday and but not wanting to put myself through the strain of running 10 miles with 6 at HM pace after last night, im switching Fridays run with Saturdays run and Friday with today. Which means tonight will be a 5 mile recovery run and im sticking with my usual fair routine route :

http://www.runningahead.com/maps/0f8883d1ca8d4f4891a452072fa3cfa8?unit=mi

Additionally as i plan to do ParkRun on Saturday, i will be doing 10 miles with 3 miles @5k pace that day, which i don’t think will affect things to much and will probably help me out physically.

I think i need to also try and get to bed before midnight more often, as more sleep will help me recover from these runs quicker.

In other news, i got my password for the Guardian site (See yesterdays post) and found that my 5k time puts me in the top 11-20% of runners in the country. Which is nice to know, ive also found they have a whole world running resources on their site and ive tried to show some of this in the image attached to the top of this post.

If i was you, id get signed up, its certainly looks like a valuable source of information for us runnings.

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/the-running-blog/interactive/2013/aug/06/rank-runner-5k-time-interactive-guide

And runners world have posted this handy long run pace guide :

http://www.runnersworld.com/running-tips/how-calculate-your-long-run-pace?cm_mmc=Twitter-_-RunnersWorld-_-Content-Training-_-LongRunPace

Charity News : I received another donation for my charity run and i am in negotiations with Lancashire Sport, as to what support and help they can provided. So its been a productive 48 hours for the event.

The Event

September 1st i will be joining Paralympic gold medallist Richard Whitehead as he runs the full length Britain. He will be running through Preston on that day and I am planning on joining him for 20 miles or so as a local runner. So if you have a spare Dollar / Pound or Euro please chuck it this way

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/Simon_Collins

Its for the Scope charity :

http://www.scope.org.uk/

Tweet it, stick it on your facebook, pass it on through forums do everything you can and together we can help make his challenge an amazing success.

#KeepRunning

One thought on “Dublin Marathon 2013 : Session 33 – lead legs

  1. Pingback: Dublin Marathon 2013 – Week 8 Review & The Week ahead | sjpc14

Leave a Reply

