Dublin Marathon 2013 – Session 41

mo time

Well that’s the speed work done and I actually felt ok out there tonight. Strange because on the walk home from work my knee felt stiff , so I bandaged that up. But once I was out running I felt good and loose and ready to pound the streets.

I did wonder if some of that could be down to seeing Mo become the double world champion adding to his double Olympic champion status. Possibly Britain’s greatest ever male long distance runner……….looking forward to seeing him run the great north and then finally moving up to the marathon next year.

In case you missed it here is the link and its a chess battle of a race!! I really wasn’t sure who was going to get it on the last bend but old Mo showed his strength and took it up one final gear when it mattered!! Great race!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/athletics/23722814

Back to my run……I got through first four miles to the stride point, with ease. I held back because I wanted to save myself for the speed work and because despite feeling ok today, I felt terrible last night. Arriving there on 37 minutes.

The sprints themselves felt great, I pushed it on each of them. Although remembering to save my fastest one till last and yer again, as per my last speed posting, ive come on somewhat since the first speed session i did!!

I then decided that as the clock read 37mins and i knew it was just two miles to home, i wanted to make this the fastest 6 miles ive done this week, although obviously without going flat out. So i took it up a gear for the run home making it back in 54 minutes and thus achieving my goal of making this the fastest six miles ive run this week despite the sprint session in the middle. Where was this feeling on the other nights he asks himself?!

Six Miles :

http://www.runningahead.com/maps/867c669076d64efa87d1955f12de660f?unit=mi

Strides :

http://www.runningahead.com/maps/c8262bcaeef446d996f0a9f41e4f903e?unit=mi

So now i can put my feet up a bit and wait for Sundays runs. Its great knowing im not running tomorrow but im also looking forward to Sunday

http://www.runningahead.com/maps/81ccc4e711fc439ab6d8571aba0b4e52?unit=mi

In case you missed it in my last post RunBreeze.Com are having a £5 off all week sale if you use the following code WORLDS – You’ve got until August 19th to make use of that folks and you have to spend at least £10 and as per you cannot use it on sale items

And dont forget this :

The Event

September 1st i will be joining Paralympic gold medalist Richard Whitehead as he runs the full length Britain. He will be running through Preston on that day and I am planning on joining him for 20 miles or so as a local runner. So if you have a spare Dollar / Pound or Euro please chuck it this way

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/Simon_Collins

Its for the Scope charity :

http://www.scope.org.uk/

Tweet it, stick it on your facebook, pass it on through forums do everything you can and together we can help make his challenge an amazing success.

#KeepRunning

@SJPC14

One thought on “Dublin Marathon 2013 – Session 41

  1. Pingback: Dublin marathon 2013 – Week 9 Review | sjpc14

Leave a Reply

