Dublin Marathon 2013 – Session 42

So today was my long run and I was to do 16 miles with 12 miles at marathon pace.

This was the course I picked :

http://www.runningahead.com/maps/81ccc4e711fc439ab6d8571aba0b4e52?unit=mi

I have run this course before once before, when I had to do 16 miles with 10 miles at marathon pace……I can see what the training program is doing there…..

Any way on that occasion the course beat me, but I was determine not to let that happen despite the occasional rain showers and frequent headwinds adding to the already challenging nature of the course, I pushed on along the canal and this time I didn’t make the mistake of taking it easy going up inclines.

So how did it pan out…..well I got the four mile point on 36:07 and then I left my father and brother in-law who had come along for the first section to it and took off. A little too quick it seemed as I reached the first mile marker in 07:30 , so I took my foot of the gas a little, which resulted in me reaching the second mile marker on just over 17 minutes, which meant I was now behind time. Although it was quite a tough second mile, I was still disappointed by this. I also had the misfortune of finding the second mile point, marked by a mangled hedgehog…..nice!!

So onto the canal path (trail) I went were I came across several cyclists and runners, many of which moved over for me. Although unfortunately they often moved over the side I was already running on!! But the jester was nice, so its was ok.

 I also came across a strange fellow ripping up wild flowers. Now earlier on in the run as I passed though cuerden valley, I had passed a load of wild flowers pulled up and thought it was probably kids or something. But here on the canal path was a man in is forties dressed like a runner…..just pulling up wild flowers and throwing them down onto the path. I decided perhaps he was a little to crazy to challenge and ran on by him, leaving me to his war on flowers.

The canal path was as tough as ever, but I didn’t relent and I kept up a good pace, although at one point, I thought id come to my turn off point, only to realise I had another 800 meters or so. So that was a bit annoying.

Then I was back onto the heads and that’s when the headwinds hit home and I faced these the majority of the run from this point onwards.

But despite all these things, I got to final corner and my watch read 1hr:35min , so I slowed to a casual job and crossed the drive way at 1hr35:31 this time, I had beaten the course. I feel much better for it and I certainly feel a lot better than I did last week!!

So that’s week 9 down and another 48 miles added to the pile.

In case you missed it in my last post RunBreeze.Com are having a £5 off all week sale if you use the following code WORLDS – You’ve got until August 19th to make use of that folks and you have to spend at least £10 and as per you cannot use it on sale items

And dont forget this :

The Event

September 1st i will be joining Paralympic gold medalist Richard Whitehead as he runs the full length Britain. He will be running through Preston on that day and I am planning on joining him for 20 miles or so as a local runner. So if you have a spare Dollar / Pound or Euro please chuck it this way

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/Simon_Collins

Its for the Scope charity :

http://www.scope.org.uk/

Tweet it, stick it on your facebook, pass it on through forums do everything you can and together we can help make his challenge an amazing success.

#KeepRunning

@SJPC14

 

One thought on “Dublin Marathon 2013 – Session 42

  1. Pingback: Dublin marathon 2013 – Week 9 Review | sjpc14

Leave a Reply

