Dublin Marathon 2013 – Session 47

So I got out this morning on my 14 miler, which to be run over quite a demanding route at 8.20 pace :

http://www.runningahead.com/maps/c4900549fd834e21b91970bc1f490c0c?unit=mi

Doing long runs at this pace is new to me, before this my long slow run pace was 8.30 per mile and before that it was however I felt……

So on my map I marked off the 2 mile, 5 mile , 6 mile, 8 mile, 10 mile and 13 mile points, as they were all recognisable land marks and I made a note of the time I need to reach each point., as I am finding this system is really much better than simply an end goal time and it also is helping maintain my focus as I plod the miles.

I reached the two mile point about 30 seconds head of schedule but rather than slow down I maintained my pace as I knew some quite demanding miles lay ahead. Mile five I was just on schedule, as was mile six. However, after several hill climbs I reached mile 8 two minutes behind schedule. But I did not panic too much about this, as I knew I would soon reach the section of the route which runs down hill for about 3 miles and sure enough I reached the 10 mile point, one minute ahead of schedule and that how it remained until I reached the steep incline at the 13 mile point and that took it out of me a bit and put right back on the schedule. However, I was I able to maintain a good pace from then on, even picking the pace up for the last few metres to get home in 1hr56mins13secs , so just under the 1hr56mins40secs target time.

So I am quite pleased with this, as this was a tough route and I wasn’t sure if I could make around in 8.20 put I sure enough I did it and the recovery week were I ran 43 miles, undertook a speed session and achieved a ParkRun PB comes to an end.

Highlights of the run include passing through the hamlet of Top O”TH Lane and the Village of Brindle, if you can afford to live in either of these, I envy you!!

Also came across some sort of bike race, which meant I had to move over to the other side of the road at one point to A) Not interfere with their race and B) avoid getting run down. The downside to this was, I had to run along in the sun, whilst they got the shade!!

Just one week now till this………

The Event

September 1st i will be joining Paralympic gold medalist Richard Whitehead as he runs the full length Britain. He will be running through Preston on that day and I am planning on joining him for 20 miles or so as a local runner. So if you have a spare Dollar / Pound or Euro please chuck it this way

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/Simon_Collins

Its for the Scope charity :

http://www.scope.org.uk/

Tweet it, stick it on your facebook, pass it on through forums do everything you can and together we can help make his challenge an amazing success.

#KeepRunning

@SJPC14

 

One thought on “Dublin Marathon 2013 – Session 47

  1. Pingback: Week 10 Review & The Week Ahead | sjpc14

Leave a Reply

