Week 10 Review & The Week Ahead

So week 10 was a recovery week covering 43 miles.

It began with an 8 aerobic run m which I aimed to do in 8.30 pace , but I ended up completing in in 08:15 pace coming home in 1hr05mins57secs and I was really pleased about that, as it was a tough route and one that had beaten me before

https://sjpc14.wordpress.com/2013/08/21/dublin-marathon-session-43-reviewed/

This was followed up with a 8 mile run, including a Vo2 max session of 5*800 sprints for which I used the runners world training calculator to work out, I needed to be completing these in 3.13. Although, this proved a challenge and I only got two runs done in the target time frame.

The next day after this I was down for a five mile recover run and again I decided to turn to the runners world training calculator and use their suggested time of 8.20 per mile for this session. This proved manageable but also a step up from my usual junk mile recovery sessions of just plodding round.

https://sjpc14.wordpress.com/2013/08/23/dublin-marathon-2013-sessions-44-45-reviewed/

For my next session I replaced an 8 mile with 8*100 metre strides for a 8 mile including a ParkRun session and to make up for dropping the speed work, I push hard for all three laps of the Preston ParkRun route and achieved a course PB of 20:15, which I was really pleased with

https://sjpc14.wordpress.com/2013/08/24/dublin-marathon-2013-session-46/

Then yesterday was my long run, which this week was just 14 miles and I picked a tough route with a 500 feet climb, again setting myself a pacing plan of 8.20 per mile and I got around in the allotted time, although I was behind my 2 minutes at one point and I did have to work hard, it was worth it and I feel quite pleased about that.

https://sjpc14.wordpress.com/2013/08/25/dublin-marathon-2013-session-47/

So the week ahead, week 11…….55 miles are to be covered, 20 of which will be my charity event

The weeks running is set out as follows :

Tuesday – 7 miles with 6*100 m strides

Wednesday – Lactate Threshold 11 Miles with 7 Miles @HM Pace

Thursday – Cross training or Rest

Friday – 12 Miles

Saturday – 5 Miles

Sunday – 20 Miles

Its going to be a tough week but im looking forward to it and im very much looking forward to my charity run. That should be quite an experience

The Event

September 1st i will be joining Paralympic gold medalist Richard Whitehead as he runs the full length Britain. He will be running through Preston on that day and I am planning on joining him for 20 miles or so as a local runner. So if you have a spare Dollar / Pound or Euro please chuck it this way

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/Simon_Collins

Its for the Scope charity :

http://www.scope.org.uk/

Tweet it, stick it on your facebook, pass it on through forums do everything you can and together we can help make his challenge an amazing success.

#KeepRunning

@SJPC14

Leave a Reply

