Dublin Marathin 2013 – Sessions 54 & 55

wpid-running-in-the-rain

Running in the pouring and freezing rain last night certainly didn’t make me relate to the above picture! And it also wasn’t fun to find the pockets of my running jacket are not water proof and as such my map had melted, so the intended 12 mile run out, became this 13 miler :

http://www.runningahead.com/maps/0861a3b5896740d7a140ae61aa0dcb31?unit=mi

I was prepared for rain, but not icy cold rain!! And I also had forgotten how hilly this route was!! It was picked purely as it was the first 12 miler I came across in my list of maps!!

So it wasn’t a fun run, but I was glad to get out, even if the conditions were miserable!! As my brother in-law always says “character building” and it certainly was! Its been a long time since I rain in such bad weather but it will do me good no doubt.

I completed the 13 miles in 1hr53mins24sec which works out about 8.43 pace but to be honest when I got to around the 11 miles point, I was starting to run out of speed and my left knee and stiffened up a little , so I had slowed right down. But I did manage one last push to rush up the final hill just after the 13 miler marker, so im quite pleased with that. Although at that point I had no idea I have covered 13 miles and was trying to ensure I didn’t end up with too much of a disastrous 12 mile run out.

So today, I got up and I was aiming for a ParkRun PB and I was heading to the Cuerden Valley ParkRun. However, this all when wrong when I set off far too late to get to the start on time , although I did cover the 3 miles to the run in 22 minutes, it was 0902 when I got there. So I took a quick exit left and snuck off without looking too much like id arrived late.

And this is what I ended up running :

http://www.runningahead.com/maps/04fd46c1472c481597b06ecb04a2033c?unit=mi

And I covered that in 52:12 which works out at about 8:42 pace.

So two slow runs, although one due to the weather and hills and the other due to having rushed to make park run , but missing out by two minutes. I blame having to wait for traffic to cross a few roads, but its mostly my own fault for not setting off in time!!

So annoyed!!

So tomorrow is my last run for two weeks and im going for 20 miles and this famous route :

http://www.runningahead.com/maps/62728f9fbedc451cafbf4854ec56f43a?unit=mi

Famous because last time I tried to run it, I ended up running this :

http://www.runningahead.com/maps/13879cf67b294fcdb25a2492eabe623d?unit=mi

So fingers crossed it will go a little better this time!! Although based on the last two runs, it would seem that its likely to go wrong again!!

#KeepRunning

@SJPC14

8 thoughts on “Dublin Marathin 2013 – Sessions 54 & 55

    • I know!!! I so annoyed with myself!! I wanted to PB on that route as im about to go off on holiday!

      Probably did my body a favour mind you!!

      And yes!! I don’t want to end up getting lost tomorrow!! It a be three disappointing runs in row then!! Not the high I wanted to leave on….

      So hows you ? Not long till race day hey!!!!! Ek!!!

      • Yeah I’m good thanks – another PB for me at parkrun this morning followed by 5 miles @MP. Starting to get nervous now though, six weeks is not very long at all! Have a great holiday 🙂

      • oh well done you!! Six weeks will fly by!!

        Have you got your race plan sorted and have you been tempted to look a next marathon yet lol …..I have he he

        And thank, ive got some new lit reviews posted up today , feel free to check them out. 🙂

    • No Janie, sorry about the delay your comment had been labelled as spam. I am glad your enjoying reading the blog and yes it amazing how little things here and there can make sure a big difference!

      Thanks for reading.

  1. I just like the valuaable information you provide
    to your articles. I will bookmark your blog and test once more righht here regularly.
    I’m fairly certain I’ll be informed mazny new stuff prolper
    right here! Goood lucxk for the following!

    • Thank you for your comments , I am glad you are getting something out of it. I am hoping to learn quite a bit from this myself and if others also learn from the blog then that can only be a good thing.

Leave a Reply

