A major set back and marathon 7

leg x ray

Back in early October i was dealt a running blow….I had developed a stress fracture in the left shin. I am not sure exactly how it happened, but it resulted in a total of 10 weeks with no running what so ever before i was finally given the all clear.  Although that all clear, came with a warning to take it easy for 4-6 weeks.  And that is where i am, coming towards the end of week 4 of taking it easy.  A period of running, far more frustrating than the 10 weeks i was not allowed to run  at all and one that is now eating into what should be my training for marathon number 7……..

Marathon 7

Boston marathon

That’s right, as the above image indicates.  I have used my sub3 marathon time from Manchester to secure a place in the 2016 Boston Marathon. What is possibly the pinnacle marathon, of the amateur marathoners  career.  A marathon major, that happens to not only be one of the most prestigious marathons in the world, but also one of the few marathons have requires a qualifying time. Which in my case was 3:05:00.

So at the moment I am frustratingly behind in my training, whilst gradually trying to increase my weekly mileage without re-fracturing my shin…..tricky times indeed, but fingers crossed i will be lining up in Boston, in April for marathon 7.

2015 Sign off

My injury also contributed towards me running fewer miles in 2015, than 2014.  The first time i have rerecorded a year on year drop in mileage since 2011.

miles run per year 2015

  • In total i ran 1798 miles in 2015, and thanks to Smashrun i can see that i ran with an average pace of 8 minutes per mile, which is an improvement on 2014 when my average pace was 8:10 per mile.
  • The majority (60%) of my runs where in the PM
  • My longest running streak was 27 days, but longest break was 74 days – Thanks to the stress fracture
  • My average run length was just 6.4 miles and some of that might due to the fact i now do track training
  • Finally on average i ran 3.9 days a week, compared to 4.5 in 2014. Again this is probably due to the injury.

 

But all the frustration and injury filled end to 2015, cant take away the fact that was the year i ran Sub3.

manchester 3

Lets see what 2016 brings.

One thought on “A major set back and marathon 7

Leave a Reply

