The Art of Running Faster

art of running faster

The Art of Running Faster book review

Written by Julian Goater and Don Melvin

Words that sum it up : Training smarter, the five S’s : Speed, suppleness, strength, stamina and skill. Psychology

 What’s it all about : I have long praised the book “Advanced Marathon” for changing the way i train for, plan and run marathons. It is a book, that for me, changed everything and made me the runner i am today. This book, i feel, having read it, will take me up another step. It will improve the training I do, outside of marathon preparation. It will give me, what i have lacked outside of my traditional focused 18 weeks of the week, it will give me structure, guidance and i suspect results. I think this book will, without doubt change my training habits and actually it already has.

Following the books advice i am stretching twice a day, in addition to any stretches i do before and after a workout. I am also planning on developing a year long plan, split up into six distinct phases as per the books advice. As the authors say, it’s not just about the milage, it’s about everything. Its early days but i just have a good feeling about this book and what i will gain by following it as closely as i followed “Advanced Marathoning”.

Now i realise, i am going on a bit about how great this book was for me, rather that listing what its about…..basically it is a guide on, how to adapt your training, to improve your pace as a runner and there is a lot in it, that i am not doing. So you can’t fail but learn something new and ultimately improve your training after reading this book.

For : Runners like me, who want to running faster paces, runners who want to improve their training methods and runners who are seeking that next PB.

Best bits : Without a doubt, the five S’s a simple system, easy to follow.  Also the bits were they use Lance Armstrong as a good example…….tut tut tut come on publisher, let’s get that guy out of this book.

For more book reviews see here [click this folks…..]

Twitter : @SJPC14
Garmin : SJPC14
Smashrun : SJPC14

 

2 thoughts on “The Art of Running Faster

  1. Pingback: A 12 month plan….. | sjpc14

  2. Pingback: Rossendale XC | sjpc14

Leave a comment